tickitaly.com - sightseeing, not queueing.

Customer reviews for: Guided tour of the Vatican - 2 hours

Buy tickets here


4.1 out of 5 stars from 88 customers. 59 of them wrote reviews:


Page 2 of 3
5 stars
SC, Netherlands
17th Sep 2014
The guide was very friendly and knew a lot. We had a very good experience.
5 stars
IB, Australia
24th Aug 2014
Excellent. Booking was effective. Guide was good.
5 stars
AP, United States
24th Aug 2014
The tour was terrific. The guide was informative without over loading us with information. She gave a break down of the Sistine chapel before the tour, so I was able to appreciate the intricacies much more. This was the best tour I had in Italy.
5 stars
DW, Canada
14th Aug 2014
The tour was great and I guess my issue is not the tour but the tour guide. She was very passionate and knowledgeable about the are in the sistine chapel but she needs to hear her presentations to tourists. She spent a lot of time at the boards with the pictures on them explaining every detail of every work of art on the ceiling of the sistine chapel. Her explanations were too long and detailed. We are tourists not art history majors!! I'm sure she knew more about the art than the pope himself but she was just 2 long!!
5 stars
LS, Denmark
30th Jun 2014
Too large a number of visitors at one time, but I can see it's not easy to avoid.
5 stars
YB, Australia
14th May 2014
As we arrived very early it was not busy so was very easy to find where to go and we picked up our tickets immediately. We had the best tour guide and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
5 stars
SK, Australia
3rd May 2014
Booked our tickets online which was very easy, had no issues using them at the Vatican to gain entry, wow what an amazing place to visit & was worth the long flight from Australia
5 stars
SB, United States
16th Apr 2014
Excellent. Our tour guide could not have been better, She had been guiding these tours for decades (though she didn't look that old!). She was clear, comprehensive, kind, and patient with our questions. I appreciated the pace she set, and how she made sure not to lose any of us. The Vatican is an incredible place, and so huge. She did an amazing job of covering all the basics and maintaining a pace that got us through it all. Excellent in every way, thanks!
5 stars
RK, United States
13th Apr 2014
We had a knowledgeable and interesting guide. We learned a great deal on the tour and have already recommended this to friends.
5 stars
RP, United States
17th Feb 2014
The tour guide was very knowledgeable. She patiently waited for group members to assemble before she began lecturing, and, when she had to, corralled the group if stragglers got distracted elsewhere. Her experience and joy in sharing her knowledge was exceptional.
5 stars
SA, United States
12th Feb 2014
I enjoyed the Vatican and Sistine Chapel very much. I was so glad I had purchased the tickets ahead of time as it made the experience so much easier.
4 stars
AG, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
5th Nov 2019
A little long and as we were asked to change our Colosseum booking by bringing it forward an hour an half we had to run to make that booking, made it rather stressful and we missed going to St Paul's square
4 stars
NH, Ireland
14th Oct 2017
Very crowded but that is to be expected. Did nt get into Basilica as took too long to get through Sistine chapel and we took the wrong door out (our fault).
4 stars
TJ, United States
27th Aug 2016
Let people know how crowded and hot it will be, especially if they have young children.
4 stars
ML, United States
14th Aug 2015
it was wonderful though extremely crowded. I am short so was difficult to see some exhibits due to the crowds so only suggestion would try and go when less visitors.
4 stars
GT, Canada
16th Jun 2015
It was very easy to get to the ticket office. The only confusing thing is we thought we had to go to the ticket office first, before passing through security. In fact, the ticket office was inside the museum, after passing through security. Our guide was very good, funny, animated, though her Italian accent to us Canadians, was challenging at times to clearly hear what she was saying. But, that's in large part due to the massive crowds and noise.
4 stars
RN, Australia
8th Jun 2015
Booking ahead made it very easy, skipping the long lines was well worth a few extra dollars, the tour was great, only negative was how crowded the Vatican was
4 stars
JM, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
17th Mar 2015
Our guide was very enthusiastic, and really Good fun. Very good
4 stars
JM, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
5th Aug 2014
Getting a 'skip the queue' ticket is a must. At our allotted time everything went very smoothly. The Italian lady giving out the earphones was lovely and we had quite a chat with her. Unfortunately our guide struggled with his English and my two teenagers struggled to understand him. I think next time I would get a 'skip the queue' ticket but explore the museum on my own. Yes the guide was informative but it would have been nice to have spent longer in certain rooms. Walking through the Sistine Chapel was rushed but I appreciate it was in the height of the season and everywhere was extremely crowded. We went into St Peter's Basilica alone and for me that was the highlight, it really is spectacular.
4 stars
MP, Canada
2nd Aug 2014
Enjoyed our visit to the Vatican. No issues when getting our tickets. Very informative tour, however felt it was too rushed and there was no time to ask questions about the things we were viewing. Too many people also. Very crowded.
[Tickitaly responds: thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not have enought time and that there were many people on the tour, unfortunately this is a tour arranged by the Vatican staff directly, so there is nothing we can do about guide and size, but we will definitively forward your message to the staff so we can all try to improve our services]

Page 2 of 3
Where do these reviews come from?
About two weeks after you have used your tickets we send an email asking you for your feedback on tickitaly.com and on the individual attractions that you visited. We ask our customers to give us and our tickets a rating out of five stars and to write a short review - all of these reviews come from people that have bought tickets from us.
Why are there more stars awarded than reviews?
Many of our customers opt to award stars rather than write a review.
Why do some reviews have a ? instead of stars?
Some reviewers opt to write a comment but don't enter a star entry. These are sometimes positive and sometimes negative - we include these reviews in the listings after the starred reviews, but we don't include them in the overall ratings.
Where is my review? I can't see anything in the list?
Each review is checked by our staff in order to avoid posting inappropriate content or personal details, and to see if the customer has had a specific problem that needs to be addressed. In most cases these reviews go online with their star rating and any comment that has been made. In the cases that there is an issue that we have to address, such as refunds or specific complaints, we flag the review for response. In those few cases, any star rating is immediately taken into account in our ratings but the actual review is only posted once we have resolved the issue or had an opportunity to respond. Any editorial comment will be clearly highlighted like this: [Tickitaly responds: .....].
Are these reviews real or have you faked them?
All of the reviews and star ratings have come from people that have purchased tickets from us. We are very proud of the service and products that we provide, but obviously we aren't perfect and sometimes things go wrong. Once we have addressed any problems that a customer has had, we will process the original review (although we reserve the right to fix minor typos like ticketitaly).
If a review contains offensive language, abuse or personal insults, we'll publish the stars but omit the text.
 

Why Tickitaly?

Based in Italy for 15+ years. Local knowledge, local contacts. We're here to help.
Transparency. All tickets are full-entrance with no extras to pay!
Availability - we'll often get you in when availability elsewhere is exhausted.
Trust - we've been working with suppliers and guides for ever! Over 10,000 reviews with an average of almost 5 out of 5!

Payments

We use industry standard Stripe for all-secure payments.

You'll be charged nothing until we have confirmed your tickets and tours.

All prices are displayed in full - there are no additional charges 'on-site' and you will be arriving with the confidence of carrying fully-paid tickets.

Coronavirus in Italy

IMPORTANT ENTRANCE REQUIREMENTS

Please note that in order to use your tickets you MUST be able to provide one of the following:

  • - Covid19 Green Pass certification (in digital or paper format) able to attest - together with a valid identity document - that they have received at least one dose of one of the vaccines authorized by the EMA or AIFA (Comirnaty by Pfizer-BioNtech, Vaxzevria by Astrazeneca, Janssen by Johnson & Johnson and Moderna)
  • Exemptions: COVID-19 Green Certification is not required for children excluded by age from the vaccination campaign (under 12 years of age) and those exempt on the basis of appropriate medical certification.
  • - Visitors from Israel, Canada, Japan and the United States - Vaccination certificates issued by the health authorities of these countries (complying with EU Recommendation no. 2021/912 of 20 May 2021) will also be accepted, but must include the identifying data of the person and data regarding the type of vaccine and date(s) of administration. Please note that certificates will be accepted if they are in Italian, English, French or Spanish. If the certificate is not issued in bilingual form and not in one of the four languages indicated in the Order of the Minister of Health of 18 June 2021, it must be accompanied by a sworn translation.

This documentation must be presented at the entrance when the body temperature is checked.

Security queues to check the Green Pass requirements may be a bit long so do allow plenty of time to ensure you do not miss your entrance slot. Have your Green Pass and ID ready for viewing. Whilst they may seem long, queues do move fast so please be patient. Thank you for your cooperation.

PLEASE NOTE: If you do not have a Green Pass and a valid identity document, you will not be able to access and your ticket will not be refunded. For further information www.dgc.gov.it

Due to Coronavirus many venues and events are applying strict entry conditions. These will vary by venue but common examples are:

  • You must wear a compliant CE mask (Ordinanza RT n.48) which covers both mouth and nose.
  • Disposable single-use gloves must be worn at all times.
  • Hands (or gloves) must be cleaned with a disinfectant gel on entry.
  • Your temperature (which will be measured on entry) must not be above 37.5°C.
  • Visitors must maintain a social distance of 1.8m at all times.
  • There may be a maximum visitor limit in place - in some cases this may lead to delays

Any conditions may be changed without notice as Italian regulations are updated.

If you are denied entrance because of failure to meet entry conditions, no refunds will be available.