tickitaly.com - sightseeing, not queueing.

Customer reviews for: Guided tour of the Vatican - around 3 hours

Buy tickets here


3.7 out of 5 stars from 71 customers. 40 of them wrote reviews:


Page 2 of 2
4 stars
PF, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
14th Jul 2015
I really enjoyed the visit it was worth paying extra to beat the queue but on the tour would of liked a bit longer to look at some parts especially the art section
4 stars
RI, Canada
4th Jul 2015
Very good - our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. Two negatives for us was how crowded the Vatican was which made it difficult to get the most of the tour - and sometimes it did seem like we were rushing to the next section because there is so much to get through. Definitely would do again!
4 stars
SM, United States
6th Jun 2015
The tour was very informational. In my opinion we went through a lot of important sites too quickly. I would have preferred more time to really soak in the area, but I understand that this is a group tour.
4 stars
LL, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
11th May 2015
excellent visit just need to make sure that all microphones are working and to wait until everyone is togehter so they can hear.
4 stars
DE, New Zealand
21st Apr 2015
Excellent tour. Had some difficult in locating the pick-up point. Made worse because of the rain.
4 stars
KB, United States
11th Feb 2015
We had an excellent experience. Our guide was very nice, well-informed, patient. We had an extra bonus of getting a tour of St Peter's Basilica. The guide had our names, all well organized.
4 stars
RC, United States
19th Aug 2014
We joined the Vatican afternoon tour at 2.30pm. The meeting point was OK. There may have been other companies there also, trying to get our business. We waited for someone following the instructions, and all went well. Our tour guide was pleasant and easy to understand. Note that the Vatican & Sistine Chapel are by far the most crowded places we visited in all of Italy.
4 stars
KM, United States
24th Jul 2014
So crowded our views of hallways, floors, statues, etc. was obstructed by masses of people. August is not best time to see Vatican. Guide was good but could not keep up with the traffic to get close enough to hear and enjoy.
4 stars
RO, Ireland
13th Jun 2014
Tour guide was very good. The tour itself was very interesting and a good experience over all. I Didn't enjoy having to look at picture board to get explanations.
4 stars
LW, Canada
6th Jun 2014
Tour guid was really good !
3 stars
CL, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
19th Sep 2017
The group was too big and even with headsets we had difficulty hearing at times as we got spread out. We weren't really impressed with our guide
3 stars
PY, United Kingdom (Great Britain)
30th May 2017
There wasn't a problem finding the meeting place, however organisation of our group left much to be desired. Lots of waiting as a result, plus the group was way too big. Our guide did your job and was gentle and kind but didn't make the tour interesting. Facts is easy to recite, telling a good story with them makes for better and less boring walkabout.
3 stars
PL, Netherlands
12th Mar 2016
Extremely crowded and difficult to follow the guide.
3 stars
EL, United States
31st Jul 2014
Too crowded!
3 stars
RV, Brazil
12th Jul 2014
Buying the ticket you skip the line: that's nice. But the advantages stop there: the Vatican Museums were so, so crowded that it was very difficult to appreciate the works of art with any pace and leisure. At the Sistine Chapel you have two (memorable) minutes and that's it: the guards are already shooing you to go on and clear the space asap, via via! Why don't they organize the visitation like at the Uffizi or the Galeria at Firenze (which I also both the entraces with Tickitaly), with a limited quantity of people entering every 30', so as to let everyone really appreciate it? OK, one would have to book in advance; but that's better than paying a lot and not really have time to appreciate! It was summer: I do not know if that's any better on winter.
3 stars
MW, Australia
1st Jul 2014
Unfortunately some of our group got lost, and were not found despite the guide having left us to try to find them. This may have meant that the tour was more rushed Than normal, but I would have liked more time in the various rooms leading to the Sistine chapel. It was great, though, to be able to avoid the queuing outside, although I'd hoped the guide would have pre-bought the tickets, whereas her buying them took up quite a bit of our time.
2 stars
PL, United States
27th Apr 2017
Vatican / Chapel are a must see, but a nightmare... as it is too crowded. Its like a cattle drive! Nothing wrong with the tour company, just the commercialization of the Vatican. Only once....
2 stars
RN, Sweden
4th Mar 2017
The guide was good. Sound quality not perfect. The place was far too crowded!
2 stars
LS, United States
15th Aug 2014
Way too crowded. Don't go August in afternoon.
SJ, Australia
21st May 2015
Fantastic experience. Guide was wonderful too. 5 out of 5

Page 2 of 2
Where do these reviews come from?
About two weeks after you have used your tickets we send an email asking you for your feedback on tickitaly.com and on the individual attractions that you visited. We ask our customers to give us and our tickets a rating out of five stars and to write a short review - all of these reviews come from people that have bought tickets from us.
Why are there more stars awarded than reviews?
Many of our customers opt to award stars rather than write a review.
Why do some reviews have a ? instead of stars?
Some reviewers opt to write a comment but don't enter a star entry. These are sometimes positive and sometimes negative - we include these reviews in the listings after the starred reviews, but we don't include them in the overall ratings.
Where is my review? I can't see anything in the list?
Each review is checked by our staff in order to avoid posting inappropriate content or personal details, and to see if the customer has had a specific problem that needs to be addressed. In most cases these reviews go online with their star rating and any comment that has been made. In the cases that there is an issue that we have to address, such as refunds or specific complaints, we flag the review for response. In those few cases, any star rating is immediately taken into account in our ratings but the actual review is only posted once we have resolved the issue or had an opportunity to respond. Any editorial comment will be clearly highlighted like this: [Tickitaly responds: .....].
Are these reviews real or have you faked them?
All of the reviews and star ratings have come from people that have purchased tickets from us. We are very proud of the service and products that we provide, but obviously we aren't perfect and sometimes things go wrong. Once we have addressed any problems that a customer has had, we will process the original review (although we reserve the right to fix minor typos like ticketitaly).
If a review contains offensive language, abuse or personal insults, we'll publish the stars but omit the text.
 

Why Tickitaly?

Based in Italy for 15+ years. Local knowledge, local contacts. We're here to help.
Transparency. All tickets are full-entrance with no extras to pay!
Availability - we'll often get you in when availability elsewhere is exhausted.
Trust - we've been working with suppliers and guides for ever! Over 10,000 reviews with an average of almost 5 out of 5!

Payments

We use industry standard Stripe for all-secure payments.

You'll be charged nothing until we have confirmed your tickets and tours.

All prices are displayed in full - there are no additional charges 'on-site' and you will be arriving with the confidence of carrying fully-paid tickets.

Coronavirus in Italy

Due to Coronavirus many venues and events are applying strict entry conditions. These will vary by venue but common examples are:

  • You must wear a compliant CE mask (Ordinanza RT n.48) which covers both mouth and nose.
  • Disposable single-use gloves must be worn at all times.
  • Hands (or gloves) must be cleaned with a disinfectant gel on entry.
  • Your temperature (which will be measured on entry) must not be above 37.5°C.
  • Visitors must maintain a social distance of 1.8m at all times.
  • There may be a maximum visitor limit in place - in some cases this may lead to delays

Any conditions may be changed without notice as Italian regulations are updated.

If you are denied entrance because of failure to meet entry conditions, no refunds will be available.